HappyHips

Teenage and Young adult Hip Dysplasia and Impingement.

Forums

Forum Home > General Discussion > My story

Laura

My name is Laura, I am a dance teacher and nursery nurse. I have danced since I was 3yrs old and have always been extremely active and hype mobile.

In April 2011 I ran London marathon raising money for kidney research as my parents had just undergone a successful kidney transplant. I trained for in preparation for the marathon for around 4/5 months..and then 2 weeks to the marathon I strained left hip whilst dancing so I rested and ran the marathon completing it in sever pain around my hips in a time of 5hrs 15mins.

After the marathon was extremely sore around hips and thighs, had Large blisters on inside of feet which had not occurred during training.

From then on my I suffered increased pain in my right hip. I had pain in my groin wrapping round back of hip and down the side. Also pain referred down thigh into knee and sometimes down into ankle at times. This impacted on my ability to work..both as a dance teacher and a nursery nurse. It was a very frustrating time.

I had intense physiotherapy, acupuncture, manipulation etc.. But after no improvement I was recommended to Professor Fahily @ Royal Bolton hospital.

March 2012 I had First consultation at Bolton hospital.

Throughout 2012 I had - CT scan, MR arthrogram, intra- articular steroid injection. Ultrasound on front of hip...the wait I between appointments was unbelievable..

I Was told I have slight hip dysplasia as well as snapping hip syndrome.

Im March 2013 I underwent an itb release with a hip arthroscopy. After operation I attended physio...which didn't help a lot....travelling for over an hour for 20mins of physio. I was given exercises to help strengthen and increase mobility .